Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 5, 2013

HAMILTON: The side view mirror and the Long Beach gated community

Niagara Gazette — Upon first hearing of the Trayvon Martin incident, it would have been easy for even the conservative in me to conclude that Zimmerman was a guilty racist. I could have come to that without hearing any evidence other than Martin was black and Zimmerman was, well, a white Hispanic, but it would have been wrong to do.

We often base things on our own experiences, but in the absence of hearing all of the evidence, it would be wrong for me to judge Zimmerman. Moreover, if a single, personal experience outside of a Long Beach, Calif., gated community in 1971 was all that I had to go on, then I would have to brand him with the red-hot scales of justice as guilty.

Here’s why.

The Navy assigned me to the USS Wiltsie, which was then in the Long Beach yards for repairs. Three of us Radarmen from the Combat Information Center gang had orders to attend a weeklong electronic countermeasure/electronic counter-counter measures course at Point Loma. We made the two-hour trip from the ship to that Fleet Anti-Air Warfare Training Center that sat high above the tranquil San Diego Harbor to the east, and west of the waves of the Pacific Ocean that crashed against the rocks. Thereafter, we returned to Long Beach.

Kerrigan, the car’s owner, lived aboard the ship, but the other shipmate actually lived in a Long Beach gated community, not too many miles from the base. On that Friday evening, he decided to simply go home and report to the ship on Monday morning.

With him being a rather plump fellow, I could not understand why he wanted to be dropped off outside of his gated community instead of at his front door. With my hopes dashed of seeing what it was like inside of the high walls of any gated community, our shipmate got out of the car and dragged his luggage from the back seat. He then leaned in and said his goodbyes; and as he was about to throw his sea bag over his shoulder, Kerrigan leaned toward him, looked past me and shouted up to the big guy, asking him if he was sure that he didn’t want a ride into the complex. The man stood and thought about it, first looking back over his shoulder at the pastel pink walls of the development for a few seconds, then spending as much time looking down into my smiling face.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page