Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 8, 2012

HIGGS: Norma the cheerleader mixes the ingredients

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — At the end of the week, we were invited to attend the final presentation of their work. Again, it was conducted in a professional manner, moving along in a smooth orderly fashion and included all the necessary “ingredients” to make us feel they had a good handle on our problem and were willing and able to help our community solve it. Maybe it was because the presentation was held in the culinary institute auditorium, which houses a full kitchen at its center making it a place to “combine, stir together and serve” a well-thought out “menu” of where we should go from here.

The panel was asked to present some potential development ideas utilizing the remaining square feet in the former mall. Some of the “ingredients” were our assets: the Falls themselves, our other natural resources and parks, our history, education and health care advantages, our sports and leisure facilities. An important part of this analysis was the fact that our customer base and our marketing ability to serve 755,000 people is within a limited driving distance of thirty minutes. We have to start thinking positive about these assets ourselves and quit running our city down. My friend Domenick says we need “cheerleaders” if we ever expect to gain our rightful place in the equation. Well, here I am. Rah! Rah!

Some ideas considered were retail, specialty foods and culinary, drinking places, music and books, sporting goods, fitness and spa/salon services. Potential customers would be visitors — day trippers and overnighters and residents.

The panel’s thoughts for the first floor (74,500 sq.ft. +/-) was a “destination anchor, a lower level highlighting food, art and recreation”. Some ideas tossed out were a fresh food market (very popular in many urban destinations), maybe a commercial kitchen with communal tables or even a small grocery store. A small bowling alley could be a part of the recreation aspect with some retail touching on hiking and fishing and the like along with information on other tourism experiences. How about a four-screen theatre? Potential could be Niagara-area themed movies during the daytime and first- and second-run movies in the evening. Broadcast opportunities and a place for storytelling could be a part of this space and maybe a night club.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page