Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 8, 2012

HIGGS: Norma the cheerleader mixes the ingredients

Niagara Gazette — Roger Spurback and I were invited to take part in the recent Urban Land Institute Advisory Panel Sessions centered on the “Reuse of the Balance of the Former Rainbow Centre Mall.” USA Niagara took the lead in organizing this week-long analysis with the additional sponsorship of National Grid and the cooperation of the City of Niagara Falls and Niagara County Community College.

The first event was an informal reception to meet the volunteer members of the Urban Land Institute who made up the panel. Their role was to visit the city, its landmarks, learn its pitfalls and meet some of the stakeholders to “pick their brains” if you will about what they feel might be a successful reuse of the former mall and come up with a plan and some recommendations. I was a bit disappointed to notice there were not enough people from the neighborhoods who make up the ordinary citizens but was impressed with the overall plans and certainly with the panel members themselves who welcomed Roger and me and were anxious to hear our ideas.

So, in lieu of the lack of ideas from the ordinary citizen, I included them in my conversations during the time I had to prepare for my interview. Taking into account the seasonal aspect of our tourism even though I feel great progress has been made to extend it, there are still 12 months in a year and a certain amount of participation is needed from the local resident to fill this void. Certainly the culinary institute has concentrated on this aspect by offering food and beverage outlets open to the public (first class, I might add) which not only provide another choice for us but offer a training ground for the students as well.

With that in mind I presented my own offerings and some that I gleaned from friends during my interview with two members of the panel and another stakeholder. My impression is they really listened to us and drew us out to “say it like it is” which is important to have the freedom as too many times ideas are only what others may want to hear. The panel was made up of professionals in the real estate market, the construction industry, the architect profession and some were former government leaders, and they took their responsibility seriously as they asked pertinent questions and made careful notes during our time with them both informally and at the interview. The other stakeholders I asked had the same opinion of their experience.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page