Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 6, 2012

LETTERS TO THE ISLAND: A taste of something new

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Munchers — When Corey McGowan cooked up the idea for a Taste of Grand Island, he kept hearing, “Wow, that’s gonna’ be a lot of pizza and doughnuts.” That’s when he knew he had the right ingredients.

So next Saturday in our newly-muraled mid-town plaza, it will be as much about widening horizons as waistlines. “A lot of people,” he said, “never cross over Whitehaven Road.” That’s our beltline, the unofficial boundary between the Buffalo and Niagara Falls spheres of influence. The more Corey promoted the Taste, the more he realized how many residents consider them different worlds.

“A lot of people on both ends,” he said, “don’t realize what’s on the other end.”

So Beach House, meet Village Inn, along with about a dozen other restaurants. The format follows the successful Taste of Buffalo, with 50-cent tickets sold through one central location to patrons who’ll cash them in on delectibles.

Actually, pizza’s pretty thin. Say Cheese, one of our busiest purveyors, will dish out only appetizers. Variety abounds, including our New Orleans-style Dick and Jenny’s, which recently advertised “Oysters, live music, hurricanes, drag queens (3 out of 4 anyhow).” We’re also very fond of the various dumplings and rolls from Serene Gardens, our new Oriental outpost, just the ticket for a “Taste of…” format.

Mix in the offerings of the Village Inn’s inventive Arthur Harper, and whatever comes out of the apparent reconciliation at high-profile River Stone, and it looks like all-day dining out, 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. About a dozen other businesses will make themselves known, a huge organizational feat.

Which brings us back to Corey McGowan who is, hold on now, just 23 years old, dreamed up the whole thing himself, went kitchen to kitchen promoting it and has never tried anything like it before. Actually, it’s a fundraiser helping Grand Island native and current Floridian Terry Klaaren to create a mural curing the eyesore of the plaza’s wall facing Baseline Road. The project approaches completion by the hour as his painted arches fill up with iconic local scenes. Passers-by are invited to contribute with touch up strokes.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page