Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 18, 2012

GUEST VIEW: Lessons from a state Assembly run

Niagara Gazette — For most of my adult life I have been active in the civic affairs of our community. I’ve served on a variety of volunteer boards as well as holding public office. This past year, I chose to become a candidate for the New York State Assembly from the 145th District.

With over 50,000 votes cast for state Assembly, unfortunately, I fell short by 1.5 percent of the vote. Though I was disappointed at the results, the number of people who believed in our campaign’s message of more cost-efficient government and the need to capitalize on our location to create jobs encourages me. Because of this, while I have accepted the decision of the voters, I’m convinced that I have a role to play in articulating those issues most important to Western New York.

For decades, the economy of New York state, especially that of Western New York, has been under attack by the forces of globalization. I met people whose jobs had been outsourced or whose companies had left the area altogether. I met people who were beginnimg to question our area’s ability to compete against the low-cost labor in foreign markets. I met people who were tired of the old fashioned and outdated answer that government was the problem. Instead, they want government that wil find a solution.

Our campaign presented a comprehensive plan, which would make it more attractive for businesses to relocate here and for current businesses to expand. We can accomplish this by improving the infrastructure that would capitalize on the $70 billion in merchandise trade between the United States and Canada. When this is linked with the Niagara Falls International Airport, the development of new business opportunities, from warehousing to commercial transport, could foster hundreds of good--paying jobs.

Reducing the cost of government will also improve the economic development climate here in Western New York. Our campaign was the only campaign that presented a real proposal that would lower the cost of Medicaid without hurting those people in need. By structuring the Medicaid program similar to other health insurance programs, New York state taxpayers could save millions of dollars each year. In Niagara County, the reduction would cut Medicaid costs by $2.7 million per year.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page