Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 15, 2012

Thompson job raises eyebrows

Niagara Gazette — Former state Sen. Antoine Thompson's appointment to that key post in Buffalo Mayor Byron Brown's administration is a blatant example of political cronyism.

It proves if you cultivate enough contacts there's always a job around the corner, even feeding at the public trough. Brown has named Thompson, 42, as executive director of the Buffalo Employment and Training Center. In his new job, for which he has virtually no qualifications, he will receive a salary of $79,757, close to a state legislator's annual pay.

It's important to note the agency that Thompson heads has the responsibility of working with job applicants to match them with potential employers. Such a role would obviously require someone with significant experience in human resources, hiring and recruiting. Thompson most recently has worked as a real estate agent when he wasn't scurrying around to fundraisers and political rallies.

In case you may have forgotten, Thompson at one time represented the state's 60th Senate District which then included the City of Niagara Falls and the Town of Grand Island and parts of Buffalo and Tonawanda. After Brown, then a senator, left Albany to serve as the Buffalo mayor, Thompson was urged to pursue that Senate vacancy in the special election of Feb. 28, 2006. Both the Niagara County and Erie County Democratic committees refused to endorse him for the nomination. When that happened, the short-tempered Thompson threatened the party that he would challenge Rep. Louise M. Slaughter, a Democrat n the 28th District, which then included the Niagara area. Viewing Slaughter's would-be opponent as a lightweight, Erie County Democratic Committee Chairman Len Lenihan said Thompson needed to enroll in a Dale Carnegie course on how to win friends and influence people.

Subsequently, Thompson lost the special election for the Senate vacancy to Marc Coppola but won the Democratic primary and the general election in 2006 when Coppola ended up running as an Independent. Thompson served in the Senate from 2007 to 2011. It would be a mind-bogging task to name one piece of legislation that Thompson successfully sponsored on Capitol Hill in Albany that proved helpful to his area constituents. Few local residents ever had the chance to talk with him because he spent most of his time politicking in the Queen City. I vividly recall one tourism industry breakfast forum in Niagara Falls where he showed up more than an hour late — without any real valid excuse —and added absolutely nothing to the panel discussion. Maybe he simply got lost trying to find the Conference Center Niagara Falls. (Protesting Mayor Brown's latest City Hall appointment, a writer on a blog Tuesday stated: "Thompson's not qualified to deliver a pizza. He'd have to ask for directions to his car.")

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page