Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 29, 2012

HAMILTON: Ecology, fracking, economy and water bills in the balance

Niagara Gazette — Coming out of Scranton, Pa., and on page 8A of Monday’s Gazette was the story “Natural gas drillers target the truck and bus market.” The very interesting article included information concerning not only drilling, but also on the controversial technique of so doing called fracking; and energy production, the environment and the economy should be of a particularly balanced concern to all Niagarans.

Why? Because dispersed throughout many other editions of the paper are articles on the tax increases that the residents and businesses of Niagara Falls are facing — a 3.7 percent at the county level, a 6 percent increase for water and sewer, 8.3 percent at the city level, a potential tax increase for education and schools — and who knows how the state is going to finance the SOS recovery from Superstorm Sandy?

Given all of these factors, then any frack water treatment in the city would merely be lost amongst all of the other deep doo in which we will fiscally find ourselves drowning. And drowning we are, so we have to do something in those same terms of what former House of Representative Speaker Tip O’Neill often said: “All politics are local.”

After all, life is about balance, balance in all things. And I cannot help but to think that when all factors are equal that we would take the one that would most benefit ourselves; and I will let you come to your own conclusions on that. Without laying out the facts themselves, I will describe, and maybe define the factors.

There are those who think that fracking and frack water processing is absolutely and inherently dangerous, and that it cannot be made safe under any conditions; and those people “may” be right. I just don’t agree with very many “absolutes” in life, particularly given the technological progress that we all have seen, even in our own lives.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page