Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 29, 2012

GUEST VIEW: An indepth look at the Seneca Casino issue

Niagara Gazette — To fully understand the casino, we need to separate exclusivity payments to the state of New York from the distrubution of these funds to the city. In laymen terms, the state has a contract with the Seneca Nation and the city has a contract with New York state. If the city wants to change its contract with New York, they need to do so through the state legislature. The law behind the compact, the provisions of the compact and the New York State Finance Law that governs distribution of exclusivity payments can be summerized as follows:

The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act: “A tribe seeking to engage in class III gaming is required to give notice to the state that it wishes to negotiate a compact. Upon receipt of that notice, the state is required to negotiate with the tribe in good faith.” Such compacts are subject to approval by the Department of the Interior.

Gaming Compact-State Contribution: “In consideration of the exclusivity granted by the state prusuant to Paragraph 12a of the compact, the Nation will contribute to the State a portion of the proceeds from the operation and conduct of each category of Gaming Device for which exclusivity exists.” This payment currently stands at 25 percent and the compact is scheduled for negotiations in 2016.

Gaming Compact- Party Dispute Resolution: “Method of dispute resolution. If the parties do not reach such solution within a period of thirty (30) days after such meeting or if the Parties fail to meet and thirty (30) days pass after the written notice of a claim is received, then upon notice by either Party to the other, either Party may submit the dispute, claim question or disagreement to binding arbitration.”

Tribal-state compact revenue account - State Finance Law 99H: “There is hereby established in the joint custody of the comptroller and the commissioner of taxation and finance an account in the miscellaneous special revenue fund to be known as the “tribal-state compact revenue account. Moneys of the account, following the segregation of appropriations enacted by the legislature, shall be available for purposes including but not limited to: (a) reimbursements or payments to municipal governments that host tribal casinos pursuant to a tribal-state compact for costs incurred in connection with services provided to such casinos or arising as a result thereof, for economic development opportunities and job expansion programs authorized by the executive law.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page