Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 26, 2012

HIGGS: Time to salute the folks at NIMAC

Niagara Gazette — NIMAC, another alphabet soup organization that deserves some applause for its success in living up to its mission, is the topic of discussion this week.

According to its website, “The mission of the Niagara Military Affairs Council is to support the continued growth and prosperity of the Niagara Falls Air Reserve Station. NIMAC serves as a liaison to promote communication between the base, the community, other local military units, business and government.”

The Niagara Falls Air Reserve Station is a U.S. Air Force base, located at the Niagara Falls International Airport. It is home to the Air Force Reserve Command’s 914th Airlift Wing. The 328th Airlift Squadron operates Lockheed C-130 Hercules aircraft from this airfield. The New York Air National Guard’s 107th Airlift Wing (107AW) shares the 914the AW’s C-130 aircraft.

NIMAC was formed in 1996 following a grueling public discourse involving the 1995 Base Realignment and Closure Commission (BRACC). The commission recommended closure of the Falls air base as part of its national mission to reduce military installations as established by the Department of Defense. Surviving this round of closures, NIMAC was organized to oppose any future closure possibilities.

The mission was tested again in 2005 when the Department of Defense’s BRACC recommended the closure of the United States Army Reserve Center and Army Maintenance Support Activity at Niagara Falls. Since NIMAC had been working closely with congressional leaders urging update of the facilities and increase missions, they were called into action again and once more were successful in keeping the base open and operating. The commission found that the savings associated with closing the Falls air base were overestimated by the Department of Defense as a result of recent cost reductions.

Local leader Merrell Lane serves as long-time chairperson of the board of directors and along with John Cooper, current Vice-Chairperson, they have become the face and the voice of this organization since its inception. Working with lobbyists Hyjek and Fix in the nation’s capitol and with the assistance of our area’s former Congressional representative Louise Slaughter, former Congressman Thomas Reynolds and U. S. Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton, they were able to retain and further update these important local facilities.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page