Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 21, 2012

GLYNN: Niagara blessed with agencies' helping hands

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — It's longtime volunteers like Eugene Pacia of Porter and Charlie Eames of Youngstown, both in their 80s, who help cover the bases for the Missions today. They will tell you what they've discovered over the years: They may be the only faces that a person receiving the meal will see all day. 

The Community Missions complex with its main office in the former Hiawatha Inn, Buffalo Avenue, was founded in Niagara Falls in 1925. In earlier days, the mission was housed in the 200 block of Second Street, near the former United Office Building. In 2011, the local mission served 71,159 meals and provided more than 8,500 nights of care to families and individuals in need. Today, the Mission will be shuttling people from its Buffalo Avenue site to the Hard Rock Cafe, Prospect Street, which is sponsoring a Thanksgiving Day dinner for some 240 persons. In addition, meals will be delivered to 17 shut-ins unable to make it to the restaurant. Ms. Davis says the recipients are elated just for that brief visit.

Katie Trombley, public relations manager for the missions, said the word is out that turkeys are also needed to help families with their Christmas Day dinner. "We need help to get gobblers or hams," she added. If someone wants to drop off a turkey or ham — even a gift certificate for either — the mission staff would deeply appreciate it. Anyone with questions about such donations may contact Trombley at 285-3403, ext. 2225.

•••

FOOTNOTE: It seems that this holiday now is noted more for the start of the Christmas shopping season than for a special time to give thanks for our blessings. In fact, the Black Friday "deals" at the mall, unfortunately, vie for much of our attention. Maybe we need to take a collective breath and reflect on the true meaning of this traditional feast day.

 Happy Thanksgiving!

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2263

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page