Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 20, 2012

BRADBERRY: Thanks for the feast, great memories

Niagara Gazette — As far back as I can remember, I have always been impressed by the amount of time it takes to prepare a really good Thanksgiving dinner, and how relatively very little time it takes to consume it.

Just the thought of Thanksgiving conjures up sharp memories of the grand feast at our family’s huge dining room table, the giant stuffed turkey at the center, surrounded by platters and bowls heaped high with mashed potatoes, gravy, cornbread stuffing, home grown collard greens, green beans, and all sorts of side dishes, and garnishes.

Behind us on the buffet lay an assortment of sweet potato pies, apple pies, peach cobbler, pound cakes, red velvet cakes, the rich caramelized pineapple upside-down cake and, of course, the much maligned, very unpopular, but mandatory fruit cake, which, Dad and I particularly favored.

Even with both of the expansion leafs, there wasn’t enough elbow room for everyone at the big table, so a smaller, but equally elegantly set smaller “kid’s table” complete with a linen table cloth, real starched napkins, fine china and polished silver was put up right next to the big table, fully integrating everyone into the dinner.

Having already settled any disputes about who was sitting where, and who got which piece of the turkey, we were all on our best behavior; no elbows on the table, no talking with food in our mouth, no shouting, fussing, arguing or fighting would be tolerated; violators could be invited to sit alone in the living-room, risking the possibility of missing out on desert. I don’t think that ever actually happened, the mere thought of it was sufficient to keep us in line.

After all, Mom had employed all of us in the preparation which had begun days earlier, and for some dishes, weeks ago.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page