Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 4, 2014

BRADBERRY: God put a rainbow in the sky

Niagara Gazette — “It’s time to recognize the power of the Underground Railroad’s brilliant legacy” pronounced Maya Angelou at the opening of the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center in Cincinnati 10 years ago in 2004. But my dear friend and colleague, the late Carol Murphy, as usual, was way ahead of the call; she’d already been up and running a full 10 years earlier, expanding the working McClew farmstead in nearby Burt into the most popular Underground Railroad Education Resource Center in Western New York, visited by more school children and families than anyplace else in the region.

So it was especially striking when the sad news arrived less than one week later that poet Maya Angelou, no doubt an inspiration to Carol, had also passed away, both taking their rightful places, somewhere over God’s Rainbow in the sky, neither to be soon forgotten as their brief time here on this Earth left behind legacies that will be long remembered for decades to come as the bountiful harvests from their work survives them.

Carol and I met initially on the telephone. I was trying to help her with some of the paperwork to complete an application for a grant to put together an interpretive center. She wanted to tell the whole story of the long rumored role of Charles and Anna Marie McClew’s and their alleged involvement in the Underground Railroad (UGRR) as so-called Station Masters back during the 1850s Fugitive Slave Laws days when anyone caught giving aid to “runaway slaves” could be subjected to severe penalties, including fines and the possible loss of their property.

Competition was tough. As word got out that money was available from New York state to fund educational programs that would help convey the truth about the UGRR, some groups and individuals began to discover all manner of “secret passages” and hideaways which they believed to be connected to the history of the UGRR. Some stories were potentially valid while others turned out to have a more likely connection to a more recent history having to do more with liquor smuggling during prohibition than the slave trade and the UGRR.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page