Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 5, 2014

HIGGS: More on a historic church on Main Street

Niagara Gazette — Last week we began to look at First Unitarian Church which was according to Wikipedia: “built of steel and concrete and faced with rough, uncut limestone from the bedrock excavated for the building’s foundation.”

The church website lists the interior as “more of a theater,” a stage of goodly size and furnished with a grand piano, formal chairs, and a ... reading stand in lieu of a pulpit.” A Gazette article stated the stage was used for plays, entertainment and motion pictures. The basement known, as Unity Hall, was finally finished during 1925-26 and a group of members contributed to the cost of the Bennett organ in 1928.

The sanctuary is simple and unadorned with large clear glass windows on either side. Chairs, rather than pews have been used since 1922 and the current ones in use are theater style individual chairs in sets of two. Some of them have been memorialized. Noted preservationist Tom Yots once compared the sanctuary to a “New England meeting house.” Not surprising as I found on many websites the early beginning of the faith in America in Boston, Philadelphia and other locations of our earliest settlers.

Along each side wall banners are displayed depicting all the world’s religions. Member Marge Gillies told me that her longtime friend, Christine Jacoby, now deceased; hand crafted each of them in a precise manner. She also placed them in a manner where the religions balance each other. This project took many hours of hand stitching and was truly “a labor of love”.

The website quotes the first minister the Rev. Dr. Swift stating: “The church founders were hedging their bets with such an “unchurchly” building. They wanted the option of selling it should the movement fail or if they could get a generous appreciated selling price and build ‘a churchly structure elsewhere.” Work continued with the use of the “Expansion Fund” used to remodel the auditorium in 1955. At that time the stage was closed off, six classrooms were added for a popular and well attended church school and old debts were paid off to the AUA. The Bruce Swift pulpit, the Founders Room and the Education rooms were rededicated on October 17, 1955. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page