Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 1, 2014

GLYNN: Cox wants probe of Cuomo's meddling

Niagara Gazette — State Republican Chairman Ed Cox wants the U.S. attorney and the Joint Commission on Public Ethics to look into the possibility that Gov. Cuomo crossed the line in meddling with the Moreland Commission that he appointed to probe corruption on Capitol Hill in Albany. 

In a recent article in Crain’s New York, Cuomo was quoted as describing the Moreland panel as “my commission.” Cuomo’s reply to Cox’s charges “It’s my commission. Was I interfering? I can’t interfer with it because it is mine. It is controlled by me.” The governor sounds more like the boss of Tammany Hall that the state Chief Executive.

•••

BATTLE FOR VIEWERS: Countless Western New York residents fondly remember Buffalo native Tim Russert who dominated the Sunday morning news ratings as moderator of the once-popular “Meet the Press” on the NBC network. He often claimed an audience 40 percent larger than his rivals until his shocking death in 2008.

Russert’s successor, David Gregory, is struggling with his show, ranked third in the top networks. In his first place now is CBS’s “Face the Nation,” with host Bob Schieffer, 77, who might be described as a disciple of Walter Cronkite, the legendary anchor man who died at age 92 in 2009. In second place is “This Week with George Stephanopoulos on ABC.

•••

A GOOD TIME: Looking for something both adults and the kids can do this weekend? Visit the Erie Canal Discovery Center, 24 Church St., Lockport, where “1825 Family Fun” will be held Saturday from noon to 3 p.m. It’s all part of the opening of the Erie Canal and the Lockport Locks for the season. Admission to the museum is $6 (adults), $5 (senior citizens).

•••

HELPING HANDS DEPT.: Don’t forget Saturday is “I Love My Park” day where volunteers are needed to help spruce up regional state parks and trails. If interested, visit: ptny.org/ilovemypark. Maybe the weather will even help for a change.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page