Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 20, 2014

GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Yots said he intends to continue serving on the seven-member regional state parks commission. He also will remain active in preservation efforts throughout the Buffalo Niagara community. He and his wife, Louise, now Buffalo residents, operated a bed-and-breakfast on Park Place in Niagara Falls for many years.

•••

NEW BUSINESS: The Porter House, formerly a popular tavern with adjacent volleyball courts at Blairville Road and East Avenue, Town of Porter, is expected to re-open soon. A retired Niagara Falls police officer is reportedly a partner in the project. There’s also talk that of renewed interest in a volleyball league.

•••

HEADLINE OF THE WEEK: “He’s Captain Courage-Less” —in the New York Post, a reference to South Korean ferry Capt. Lee Joon-seok, 68, who allegedly jumped ship Wednesday in an area off the Port of Incheon, leaving hundreds of high school students on a class trip to die in the disaster. 

•••

PRIME EXAMPLE: Sign on a repair shop door: “We Can Repair Anything. (Please knock hard on the door since the Bell Don’t Work).

•••

TRIVIA QUIZ: (Answer to last week’s question): “Canadian Bacon,” starring John Candy, premiered at the Niagara Falls Convention & Civic Center (now the Seneca Niagara Casino) in 1995. A major portion of the filming was in the Niagara Falls area.

•••

TIMELY THOUGHT: A friend sends this reminder from The Christophers’ movement, founded by the Rev. James Keller. The writer notes how many lives have been lost in global tragedies during the past 60 days or so: 239 on Malaysia Flight 370; 258 on that ferry off South Korea; at least 30 persons in the mudslide north of Seattle; and 12 in the Mount Everest slide. 

Despite the heavy toll, he quotes the Christophers’  belief based on an ancient Chinese motto: “It’s better to light a candle than curse the darkness.”

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Contact Reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page