Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 23, 2013

SINGER: The making of a great champion

Niagara Gazette — Tennis courts around here aren’t as thronged as they were back in the day — the sport having lost some of its regional popularity. But the recent French Open on TV was truly worth watching, not least for the exploits of one Serena Williams in winning the 2013 championship.

Despite all her demonstrated prowess, Ms. Williams has been somewhat underestimated for her repeated feats at major tennis venues around the world. Just muscular, just a big serve, etc. Pretty good at underestimating myself, I admit I didn’t expect that much when I picked up her autobiography (“On the Line”); but wow!

What a person! And what parents — two gems from the get-go. Her book shows as well as for Tiger how much a good, strong father counted for her, and in fact, Serena dedicates the book to her “daddy.” Ms. Williams reveals herself here as psychologically aware and mature well beyond her years (the great star is only 31!). And she’s implacably honest with and about herself, as I guess all great athletes must be.

Unique is the right word for Serena, and I wouldn’t want to compare her to this or that great, or cavil at why she has only won only so many French Opens, or missed this or that tournament. (Despite terrible injuries and other problems, she has already copped a massive bag of Grand Slam victories in her young life!)

Serena is unique even in the healthy, respectful rivalry she always had with a celebrated sister, Venus. And we should of course salute her fine mother, who knew how to make each of five daughters special, allowing their specific dreams to become realities.

In Serena’s riveting book there is a sweet, early part on how at 8 she nervily snuck into her first tourney, ending up against Venus in the finals (first swallow of a long summer!) Being bigger, older, and more experienced, Venus won easily, and Serena was happy for her, but disappointed in herself. She saw Venus’ gold trophy and wished she could have it instead of the silver one awarded to runner-ups. So Venus concocted a story to the effect that she preferred silver, handing the gold one to her sister! Sweet or what?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page