Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 23, 2013

GLYNN: State lawmakers vote to save paper

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Hundreds of visitors are expected to invade Fort Niagara State Park Saturday and Sunday for the Niagara Pioneer International Soccer Tournament. According to tourney chair Jeff Gee, the 20 soccer fields in the park will host 156 teams. Ashker’s Ice Cream Shop as well as the other restaurants in the village should be busy all weekend.

•••

CATCH-22: A Youngstown resident complained that a village police officer stopped him early in the morning as he was walking home a little tipsy after spending a couple of hours at a local tavern. “You can’t win,” he griped, “I left the car home so I wouldn’t be charged with DWI. And then they stop me anyway — for walking!

•••

THE JOB MARKET: Seneca President Barry Snyder notes the tribe’s three casinos — in Niagara Falls, Buffalo and Salamanca — are a key component of the Western New York economy. Snyder said the will soon be employing nearly 6,000 people. many of them non-Indians.

•••

DROP OUT RATE: Overheard at TGI Fridays, Third Street, a discussion about the discouraging graduation rates at some area high schools: “That kid next door used to take his dog to school every day. The kid dropped out, which didn’t surprise me, but I think the dog graduated.”

•••

OFF THE PRESS: “Blood and Daring: How Canada Fought the American Civil War and Forged a Nation,” by John Boyko (Knopf Canada, 356 pages, hardcover, $35). It explores Canada’s engagement in the War Between the States and offers a close-up view of both the war and how the British colonies saved themselves by becoming a nation.

A little known fact about the makeup of the troops in that war: some 40,000 Canadians fought for the North or South, 29 of whom received the Congressional Medal of Honor.    

•••

QUICKIE QUIZ: Name the two side-by-side hotels that stood for many years on Second Street, near Falls Street and across from the former New York Central Railroad Depot. (Answer Thursday)

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page