Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 19, 2013

BRADBERRY: Preserving & protecting, our past?

Niagara Gazette — Though I have not yet had the opportunity to set foot on the celebrated initial improvements in the State Park at Niagara Falls, or to visit the proposed new Maid of the Mist launch pad at the old Shoellkopf site down below in the gorge, I have been hearing some pretty serious criticism of the way some of the work is being done.

Since I trust the judgment of some of the critics, I assume that some of what I’m hearing is true and correct, and that before things go too far, it may be wise to take some time to rationally consider the question; what are the best ways to preserve and protect our precious assets without spoiling them?

The broader question is not new to historic preservationists and historians such as I tend to fancy myself, that is, how do you balance the need for public access to historically important sites with the need to protect both the public and the site?

And in today’s often volatile, sometimes violent political environments, how should safety issues be dealt with in a way that maximizes public safety and security without depriving the people of the best visitor experiences possible?

As Preserve America (preserveamerica.gov) puts it on their web site, “Providing security for operations and personnel located in or near historic and archaeological sites presents unique and sometimes difficult challenges. In some cases, security measures implemented at historic and archaeological sites are obtrusive, lack design sensitivity, discourage public access and threaten the integrity of the resources they are designed to protect.”

It appears that, regarding Three Sisters Islands, some local critics have concluded that, in fact, the “improvements” fail on all of the above measures, that they are obtrusive, lack design sensitivity and, at the very least, “discourage public access.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page