Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 15, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Forging a few fatherly memories

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Families — We’re going out tonight for Father’s Day. Doug prefers to dodge the throngs of what he calls “artificial holidays.” Anyway, he’s had enough Father’s Day already to last the whole year.

Back in April, Joe called from Pennsylvania, where he inflicts English on high schoolers and movie reviews on readers of the local Sun-Gazette. He wondered if we could somehow get together to see the Jackie Robinson movie “42” on its Opening Day. (Among baseballholics, Opening Day of anything merits capital letters.)

To make a long story short (too late), we met in Geneseo, about midway, watched the movie for about $5, had a great mid-afternoon mishmash of lunch and dinner and went our separate ways, both facing mid-evening deadlines. Newly minted Gazette Sports Editor Michael Mroziak had granted Doug an extra hour and Doug was eager to reward Mike for his risk.

All the Smiths remarked on the special joy of father and son doing the same task, as equals.

In years past Doug’s church softball team had an all-Rodriquez infield of a father and two sons — how he envied their camaraderie. Now, the day’s events had all the satisfaction of a father-to-son double play.

Day before yesterday Doug got an email from a soldier in Afghanistan applauding the review, citing specifics. Every phrase the warrior saluted had been one Doug had constructed specifically with the intention of impressing Joe. Fathers and sons together. Priceless.

Then in May we were visiting Holly, whose son Clark had a ballgame. “I didn’t ask you about this,” Holly said as Clark and Doug departed for warmups, “but they really don’t have anybody who knows how to keep score, and I suggested you might help.”

That’s like asking the Pope to lead prayers. Clark’s team was short a player and the other side won 22-9, but when Doug realized he was able to put the little dot (.) next to Clark’s name, indicating that he’d batted in a run, he could feel his heart leap. Next time up, another dot. Is there a cardiologist in the house?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page