Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 15, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Forging a few fatherly memories

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Families — We’re going out tonight for Father’s Day. Doug prefers to dodge the throngs of what he calls “artificial holidays.” Anyway, he’s had enough Father’s Day already to last the whole year.

Back in April, Joe called from Pennsylvania, where he inflicts English on high schoolers and movie reviews on readers of the local Sun-Gazette. He wondered if we could somehow get together to see the Jackie Robinson movie “42” on its Opening Day. (Among baseballholics, Opening Day of anything merits capital letters.)

To make a long story short (too late), we met in Geneseo, about midway, watched the movie for about $5, had a great mid-afternoon mishmash of lunch and dinner and went our separate ways, both facing mid-evening deadlines. Newly minted Gazette Sports Editor Michael Mroziak had granted Doug an extra hour and Doug was eager to reward Mike for his risk.

All the Smiths remarked on the special joy of father and son doing the same task, as equals.

In years past Doug’s church softball team had an all-Rodriquez infield of a father and two sons — how he envied their camaraderie. Now, the day’s events had all the satisfaction of a father-to-son double play.

Day before yesterday Doug got an email from a soldier in Afghanistan applauding the review, citing specifics. Every phrase the warrior saluted had been one Doug had constructed specifically with the intention of impressing Joe. Fathers and sons together. Priceless.

Then in May we were visiting Holly, whose son Clark had a ballgame. “I didn’t ask you about this,” Holly said as Clark and Doug departed for warmups, “but they really don’t have anybody who knows how to keep score, and I suggested you might help.”

That’s like asking the Pope to lead prayers. Clark’s team was short a player and the other side won 22-9, but when Doug realized he was able to put the little dot (.) next to Clark’s name, indicating that he’d batted in a run, he could feel his heart leap. Next time up, another dot. Is there a cardiologist in the house?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page