Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 9, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Bridge backups on the horizon

Niagara Gazette — Dear Lucky Mainlanders — Over here, sequestration looms. Sequestration as in, isolation. Late next weekend they start “fixing” the bridges again, and for all the Thruway Authority’s efforts to keep it a secret, the hints have been everywhere.

• Directional arrows face south on the northbound South Bridge.

• Barriers poise at I-190 entrances.

• The forbidden crossover just north of the South Bridge grew pavement, almost overnight.

• Detour signs suggest that the best route from Sandy Beach to Beaver Island veers through Canada.

• Department of Transportation trucks lurk suspiciously at interchanges.

• And some time next Sunday night — that is, St. Patrick’s Night — they’ll close the southbound South Bridge, and even with the time change (that’s tonight, remember) we go dark for an unspecified duration.

It’s been two years since they repaved the northbound South Bridge (that’s the one to the Tonawandas), a tortuous task which involved dropping massive concrete forms into holes on the span in the dead of night. Occasionally the shot rolled around the rim and out, backing traffic across paradise ‘til late afternoon. Fantasy Island suffered. Stress-management clinics boomed.

As we write, Thursday afternoon, not a word has been heard from the Thruway Authority, which treats us like the kid in O. Henry’s “Ransom of Red Chief,” in that they kidnapped us and now consider us a nuisance. But from various sources ranging from toll-takers to office-holders, we’ve learned that:

• Beginning next Sunday at about 8 p.m., the southbound bridge will close, supposedly to re-open around 6 the following morning.

• That means all southbound traffic will need to cross over to the northbound bridge, where the new arrows will guide two-way traffic.

• The southeast area of the Island, where most of us live, will be closed off because the parkway’s junction with the I-190 south there is too close to the crossover to allow for an easy merge. Even under normal conditions, it’s a nightmare.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page