Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 9, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Bridge backups on the horizon

Niagara Gazette — Dear Lucky Mainlanders — Over here, sequestration looms. Sequestration as in, isolation. Late next weekend they start “fixing” the bridges again, and for all the Thruway Authority’s efforts to keep it a secret, the hints have been everywhere.

• Directional arrows face south on the northbound South Bridge.

• Barriers poise at I-190 entrances.

• The forbidden crossover just north of the South Bridge grew pavement, almost overnight.

• Detour signs suggest that the best route from Sandy Beach to Beaver Island veers through Canada.

• Department of Transportation trucks lurk suspiciously at interchanges.

• And some time next Sunday night — that is, St. Patrick’s Night — they’ll close the southbound South Bridge, and even with the time change (that’s tonight, remember) we go dark for an unspecified duration.

It’s been two years since they repaved the northbound South Bridge (that’s the one to the Tonawandas), a tortuous task which involved dropping massive concrete forms into holes on the span in the dead of night. Occasionally the shot rolled around the rim and out, backing traffic across paradise ‘til late afternoon. Fantasy Island suffered. Stress-management clinics boomed.

As we write, Thursday afternoon, not a word has been heard from the Thruway Authority, which treats us like the kid in O. Henry’s “Ransom of Red Chief,” in that they kidnapped us and now consider us a nuisance. But from various sources ranging from toll-takers to office-holders, we’ve learned that:

• Beginning next Sunday at about 8 p.m., the southbound bridge will close, supposedly to re-open around 6 the following morning.

• That means all southbound traffic will need to cross over to the northbound bridge, where the new arrows will guide two-way traffic.

• The southeast area of the Island, where most of us live, will be closed off because the parkway’s junction with the I-190 south there is too close to the crossover to allow for an easy merge. Even under normal conditions, it’s a nightmare.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page