Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 22, 2013

EDITORIAL: Earth Day a time for reflection

Niagara Gazette — Today is Earth Day — a day when all are encouraged to appreciate nature, learn about environmental issues and reflect on how we can participate in global stewardship.

Founded by Wisconsin Sen. Gaylord Nelson in 1970, Earth Day is considered the genesis of many contemporary environmental movements in America. Although some might prefer to credit Al Gore with spawning our present level of environmental awareness, others might say that a populace concerned about the environment deserves recognition.

Marking its 43nd anniversary in 2013, Earth Day spans the globe, observed annually in almost 200 countries. Many Earth Day celebrations have expanded to include weeklong eco-themed events and activities, or events throughout April.

It’s not a federal holiday, so no one gets the day off of work or school, and banks will remain open. Thus, not everyone partakes in Earth Day activities. But if nothing else, Earth Day provides the media a convenient hook. So expect a surge on environmental issues on television.

Not that we are raising the alarmist flag, but it can’t be denied that as a species, we’ve done a pretty good job of cluttering up the planet.

Since Earth Day’s inception, environmental issues have gradually worked their way into our collective consciousness. Companies from Dow Chemical to Exxon try to paint themselves “green,” and citizens from all walks of life are busy talking about the environmental challenges we must overcome.

Many positive changes have taken place since 1970. The creation of widespread recycling programs; the international cooperation to ban CFCs and rectify human-caused damage to the Earth’s ozone layer; and technological innovations that have emerged in response to the reality of fossil fuels being finite resources are just a few of these.

On the local level, we can applaud organizations such as the Otsego County Conservation Association, which strives to protect the upper Susquehanna River watershed. We also applaud the success of the Delaware County Solid Waste Facility’s composting efforts, reduction of waste flow and recapture of gas emissions.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page