Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 25, 2013

EDITORIAL: Remember to give back this season

Niagara Gazette — It takes a lot of effort to make the holidays a little more meaningful for everyone in the community. We’re getting a lot of examples of that this week as several groups and individuals go to work to make Thanksgiving a thankful event for all.

In one case, organizers said late last week they were looking for people to serve meals too on Thursday.

The Feed the Falls meal-delivery initiative by the Niagara Gospel Rescue Mission is still soliciting needy families.

“We’re a little behind in receiving calls,” Shaun Smith, director of the mission, said on Thursday, when he only had 300 meal requests. “We’re kind of panicking. We’re having a lot of turkey being cooked so we are looking for families who want a meal delivered.”

Those who wish to order dinners — or maybe offer to lend a hand — can visit www.niagara missions.org or call the mission at 253-1GOD.

Then, of course, there’s the ever-popular Lord’s Day Dinner.

Hundreds of diners are expected between noon and 6 p.m. at the LaSalle Griffon VFW post at 2435 Seneca Ave. Yvonne and Matthew Davis orchestrate the volunteer effort to create cook and create a Thanksgiving meal, from their Ashland Avenue home.

Despite being setback from a flood in their home this summer, the couple will continue to lead this 30-year-tradition, but they could use a little help.

On Thursday they were still in need of donations. “We try to get at least 30 some turkeys,” said Yvonne. “Right now we have about a good 10 or 15. We’d like another 15 and hams too.”

Those who want to donate, volunteer or have a home meal delivered can call the Davis home at 284-6973.

Heart Love and Soul Food Pantry, 939 Ontario Ave., could always use a hand during the holiday season. Their Thanksgiving dinner is set for Tuesday. Call 282-5681 for more information.

Those who wish to volunteer or lend support to Community Missions of Niagara Falls, there’s the Giving Tuesday event on Dec. 3, a new movement to encourage people to assist non-profits during the holiday seasons. For more information on that event, people can contact the Buffalo Avenue mission at 285-3403.

We encourage everyone to do what they can to help make the holiday season a little brighter for all.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page