Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 24, 2013

GLYNN: Oakwood gaining new respect in Cataract City

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — On a more positive note, the new Dory Trading Post on Main Street appears to be drawing increased interest from its wide range of collector items, crafts, art works and unique gifts. Local residents may even save travel time for their Christmas shopping. Co-owners Aaron Dey and Miss Jane are excited about the prospects for the fledgling enterprise. 

•••

VALID POINT? A reader who also is an avid sports fan asks why Niagara County Community College apparently is on a mission to recruit basketball players. A glance at coach Bill Beilein’s roster shows that most of his players now are from the New York City area and others have arrived from as far away as Pennsylvania and Delaware. 

“Isn’t the purpose of a community college to provide an inexpensive education for area students who can not afford the more costly institutions of higher learning?” the reader asks. It not the first time I’ve heard from readers questioning whether that’s the best use of taxpayer funds. 

•••

HELPING HANDS DEPT.: Can you spare a few hours for a worthy cause? Volunteers are needed to assist with gift wrapping in the Opportunities Unlimited booth inside the Fashion Outlets of Niagara Falls, Military Road. The both is staffed during all the mall hours. Proceeds from the fundraiser will support programs and services provided to individuals with developmental disabilities in Niagara County.

For more information, contact Cindy Hyde (297-6400, ext. 335) or online at chyde@opportunitiesunlimited.org.

•••

SPECIAL NOTE: Sister Anthony, OSF, a resident at Stella Niagara Education Park who assists with numerous tasks at Our Lady of Fatima Shrine, Youngstown, is a patient at Our Lady of Peace nursing home. She suffered a hip fracture in a recent fall. A source familiar with the nun’s kitchen skills described her as “a marvelous cook.” Her many friends wish her a speedy recovery.

•••

TRIVIA QUIZ: (Answer to Thursday question) Speaker of the House John McCormack, D-Mass., would have assumed the presidency in November 1963 if Vice President Lyndon Johnson also had been slain with JFK that day.

•••

QUOTE FOR LIFE: “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” — Satchel Paige, the legendary black baseball pitcher.

Contact reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page