Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 23, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Taking a step back in time at Skaneateles

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Celebrants — In “Oklahoma!,” Rodgers and Hammerstein declared “Everything’s Up to Date in Kansas City.” About a year ago, we were updating it, apologizes Richard and Oscar:

“Everything’s up to date in Skaneateles

“Although the date is 1842

“They went and decked the whole place out in Charlie Dickens’ time

“As far back as they could likely go ...

Skaneateles lies about 120 miles to the east and, at this time of year, about 170 years in the past. From atop the shore of the easternmost major Finger Lake, the Chamber of Commerce some years back decided to raise the Dickens during the holiday season, building from the charming arrangement of shops along a four-block business district. Think Niagara-on-the-Lake with no funny money.

Visiting our daughter 25 miles to the south, Doug conscripted Grandson Clark and zeroed in on Dickensville last Thanksgiving Saturday. They had more fun than Scrooge on Christmas morn. First, they reported to the Chamber office itself, where they’d heard 19th century costumes were loaned out at no charge. It seemed too good to be true, but moments later Doug was “pouring forth” in a frock coat and top hat, leaving only his own winter jacket as collateral. Clark, less extroverted, declined.

Immediately they encountered others similarly garbed, exhaling greetings into the frosty air. A ghostly Marley howled out from between buildings. A fully-costumed choir from a local congregation sang all five verses of “Good King Wenceslas.”

They checked the Scarlett Rat Productions “interactive” trunk show of “Christmas Carol” snippets. Within moments they were part of the scene, Doug as Scrooge himself, a dream come true, Clark as a charity solicitor. “Are there no workhouses!,” Doug roared, with a wink and a nod to the ladies in the crowd.

“Everything’s like a dream in Skaneateles

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page