Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 28, 2013

GLYNN: Falls faced crisis in the '70s

Niagara Gazette — When you read about the disaster facing Detroit, it makes you think that perhaps Niagara Falls isn’t in such dire straits after all. The long-delayed payment of this city’s share of the slot machine revenue from the casino obviously helped brighten the fiscal picture.

In the 1970s — long before the Seneca Nation of Indians converted the Niagara Falls Convention & Civic Center to a gambling palace — the Cataract City was struggling to avoid bankruptcy. Some longtime residents may argue that conditions weren’t all that dismal, but the truth is the leaders in City Hall at the time had spent about $4.8 million they didn’t have. The record also will show that, in fact, the deficit would reach $6.3 million before any firm action was pursued. The saving grace then, as it turned out, was a new City Management Advisory Board, spearheaded by experts in municipal affairs, business and industry. One of the powerful voices throughout that impressive effort was William H. Wendel, president of the Carborundum Co. and civic leader.

The city was rescued from that plight. Still, major problems persisted, Some 37,000 manufacturing jobs were eventually lost and the city’s population — more than 100,000 in 1960 — has dropped to about 48,000.

There’s no question that Niagara Falls could yet benefit from some outside help but don’t try to convince the city council of that. One former city official, bitter over the current council-mayor friction, said, “We probably shouldn’t even be a city.” He agreed that the present set up at City Hall is not conducive to fostering friendly relations with other municipalities. He cited the example of rejecting an offer from a Buffalo foundation to help revitalize the city.  

Niagara Falls was just one of many cities in trouble during the 1970s. New York City Mayor Abraham Beam had actually signed a formal petition attesting to that city’s default but an 11th hour meeting of major parties — finally agreeing to share the blame — avoided that bankruptcy. Gov. Hugh L. Carey also played a key role in resolving the crisis.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page