Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 27, 2013

HIGGS: Historical high school moments up to 1951

Niagara Gazette — Researching history of any subject or time period is an exhausting, time-consuming project but I find it most rewarding and am grateful for the time Stan Horab spent to outline the history of the “new” Niagara Falls High School for his classmates who graduated from the 1950-51 school years.

During 1938-39 William Sdao was a member of the Chronicle staff and lo and behold the school council decided to replace Wing Collar Day with a new holiday. It kind of took the “starch” out of things but they felt it was time to let go. The following year the school had a poor football season. Many organizations appeared in the yearbook, both old and new: Student Council, Athletic Advisory Committee, Social Committee, and the Corridor Patrol which was formed on Nov. 24, 1936 to protect the property of the NFHS students — 75 students applied the first day. Others included were the Forensic Society, the Debate Team, Photography Club, Visual-Audio Club, Chemistry Club, Chatterboxes, the Latin league, Dramatic Club, Stage Crew, Senior Girl Scouts, and more. Pan-Hellenic was formed with two representatives from each sorority and fraternity. The Chronicle (NFHS newspaper) was rated second in Western New York by the interscholastic Press Association. Graduation was held on two nights to accommodate the large number of students in the senior class.

During 1940-41 the class motto was “Learners today – leaders tomorrow.” The war years brought defense classes at Trott and Whitney Avenue School where more than 100 students attended during 1941-42 to learn how to rivet, weld, mix chemicals and learn how to build airplanes. The following year’s activities reflected the war also; there were War Bond and War Stamps Campaigns, Civilian Defense groups were formed; air raid drills were held. The yearbook was not called the “Niagarian” that year. Instead it was called “Salute” for 1942-43. Patriotism continued into 1943-44 when the NFHS students assisted with rationing in the elementary schools. Several high school students and teachers received “their wings” as plane spotters.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page