Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 29, 2013

HIGGS: Law enforcement, hot dogs and block club awards

Niagara Gazette — The annual Niagara Falls Block Club Council Crime Night Out event is held in an inner city neighborhood where residents meet and greet various branches of local law enforcement and government and have the opportunity to learn about various services available in our community along with some fun things for children as well.

This year in the Highland-Centre Avenue area we were fortunate to have the Niagara Falls Housing Authority as a partner as they literally let us take over their corner resource center building for the evening. When my contact Angela Smith said the “building is yours,” I found out she meant it. We were able to use the space inside for the Masonic Lodge Safety ID Program where they interviewed the neighbors and produced laminated identification cards which included photos and fingerprints free of charge.

While waiting their turn for their ID, they encountered Sharon Mentkowski of the Buffalo office of the FBI who was set up in the hallway with a life size cutout depicting a “FBI Wanted” poster. The kids had fun sitting behind the hole and having their cell phone photo taken. This was not the usual “Wanted” poster you sometimes see in the post office as it pertained to drug free kids, “still growing, with clear eyes and ‘criminal record? — No Way’.” Fingerprints were lined up along the bottom and they were described as someone you could “approach anytime.”

Across the street in the park area the bounce house was a big hit as usual. The Kiwanis Club of Niagara Falls provided funding for the unit and their volunteers, Laurie and Candace kept things orderly. Laurie told me later that it was fun for her as the kids were precious. The little ones asked “can you lift me in?” and some wanted a hug. Many were wearing the t-shirts provided by the sheriff’s office with funds from the Niagara County Drug Task Force. Couldn’t be put to a better use I say. Back for his yearly engagement was Joe Russell, our roving magic act. He could be seen with a group of youngsters around him “making magic.” No matter how many times I watch his act I still do not know how he does those tricks.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Egypt Clamps Down on Mosques to Control Message After Fukushima, Japan Eyes Solar Power New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict?
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page