Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 20, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Finding loyalty and love at the SPCA

Niagara Gazette — There’s a lot of love “out there!” If you’re truly tired of human relationships with strings attached or being on the receiving end of too many bad habits, or of listening to so-called friends, significant others and even family members always being “right”, or chronically complaining, maybe a committed relationship with someone of our species isn’t quite right for you and it’s time to think about other options in the way of companionship.

Try visiting the SPCA of Niagara animal shelter, perhaps on a “rainy day and Monday!” Seriously. There are oceans of love there to be given back to you by patiently waiting, extremely loveable dogs and cats, of every conceivable size and variety, and so many have incredibly winning personalities. The sad eyes will melt you, perhaps even make you do the RIGHT thing. That is, take a chance — step up to the plate and adopt a canine or feline for a family pet. Maybe take two. Think with your heart about maybe “trying one on for size”! Take your time to look carefully and choosing wisely.

The love and affection and company of these adopted animals is undaunted and cannot be matched and to have a dog or cat “on your side, in your corner,” is a very good thing! These innocent creatures, always though silently, but lovingly, “understand” and offer tremendous support during a time of stress or crisis or loss and are wonderful companions when there isn’t another soul to be found anywhere. Their function, if nothing else, is to be “a friend.” That’s all they want and they give so much in return in the way of being loyal and true just by being there. Devoted pet owners think nothing of initiating these creatures into their homes as members of the immediate family. The pets serve a dramatic purpose in the structure and support of a family unit and play a major role in interacting with it. And they live for the adoring love of their pets. Many would impulsively subject themselves to and do the unthinkable to make every attempt to save them in a life or death situation. And yes, when they must “leave” us, a part of us goes with them. For many, a house or an apartment truly becomes a home when you add a set of four legs, a happy tail and that indescribable measure of love that we call a dog or a cat.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page