Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 18, 2013

GLYNN: Wallenda book: A rare mix of religion and politics

Niagara Gazette — As readers might anticipate, Nik Wallenda’s new book about his career and famous family deals more with spiritual values and religion than the death-defying feats on the high wire.

“Balance: A Story of Faith, Family and Life on the Line” (Faith Words, 216 pages, hardcover, $22) delves deep into Wallenda’s  feelings about eternal salvation and his relationship with the Almighty. In fact, at times it might seem that you’re reading the memoirs of Trappist monk Thomas Merton (”Seven Storey Mountain”) or  televangelist Joel Osteen’s latest best seller. For the record, Faith Words is a major publisher of Christian books and Bibles.

Buried within the book — the second to last chapter — is the high wire artist’s June 2012 performance at Niagara Falls, when he walked the 1,800 feet from Terrapin Point above the Horseshoe Falls to the Table Rock area in Canada. A good deal of the chapter focuses on the way he was jerked around by the park commissions on both sides of the border, seeking permission to stroll across the Niagara Gorge.

It is common knowledge that Niagara Falls, Ont., Mayor Jim Diodati was a staunch booster of Wallenda’s proposal. The mayor went the extra mile to make certain that Nik made the right contacts in the often confusing permit process. In sharp contrast, the Niagara Parks Commission treated Wallenda (and his father) rudely when the pair attempted to explain their plan during a meeting. At one stage, the commission chair reportedly snarled, “You have one minute to wrap it up, Mr. Wallenda.” Wallenda’s father was offended when commission members called his son’s plan a stunt. “This is something our family has trained to do for over 200 years,” he shot back, “This isn’t crawling into a barrel and going over the edge of the falls. This is athleticism. This is artistry.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page