Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 13, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Pigskin foes face off again

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Mat Fans — As the pigskin reached its peak, a career choice was made. Scatback Carl LaMancuso, whose father had told him “break an arm playing football and I’ll break your other one,” poised as the punt descended. Then he spied “the fire in the eye” of the oncoming defender. In a move that would assure the future beauty of Island maids and maidens, he let the ball hit behind him and roll out of bounds.

“It was at that moment,” Carl said Monday, “that I decided I really didn’t want to play football after all.”

The oncoming lineman was Richard Beyer, later to play for Syracuse in the Orange Bowl, then to be known as “Dick the Destroyer,” World Wrestling Association champion.

Giving new meaning to the phrase “fair catch,” LaMancuso became a hairdresser, raising a loving family.

Carl’s still clipping but as for Beyer, professional wrestling takes its toll and some years ago he wriggled free of its grip.

Monday afternoon, 66 years later, they met again. The weapons: golf sticks at 60 paces.

“I can’t believe it’s the same guy,” said LaMancuso as they exchanged handshakes, hugs and homeroom reveries. “What did you take?” LaMancuso asked; Seneca was largely vocational. “Electrical engineering,” grinned the grappler. He would later achieve a masters in education and remains in demand as a speaker.

Even if every professional wrestling bout was a “shooting match” (in which the opponents legitimately strive to defeat each other), there would be an element of showmanship — that is, that the man who steps into the ring would not be the same chap you might encounter in a clubhouse.

And for “The Destroyer,” when the match ended, so did the destruction. Some years after he retired, he encountered an old colleague down on his luck. “The Destoyer,” then “came back” to promote and stage a grudge match, involving each of their peculiar icons.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page