Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 13, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Lewiston civic center project will impact Lewiston taxes; use up most of greenway funds

Niagara Gazette — When asked what motivates politicians Will Rogers could only respond, “I love a dog. He does nothing for political reasons.” It’s a shame politicians aren’t more dog-like in their decision making approach if they were future problems could be avoided. But somewhere along the way a politician’s ego blinds him or her from thinking clearly. Their sole motivation isn’t to make decisions benefiting the community but to feed a self-serving ego through the accumulation of power and that cumulative hunger creates problems. For Lewiston that hunger will create problems for the next 30 years.

How will this happen? Well, it’s being proposed to use, for the next 30 years 80 percent of greenway funding on a single project — the civic center. With such a large percentage of greenway funding dedicated to one project little or no funding will be available to fund future projects in Sanborn, Colonial Village, or the Village of Lewiston. Little or no funding to improve our parks or sponsor summer youth programs at Artpark or fund the Jazz Festival. Little or no funding dedicated to Lewiston’s place in history. For the next 30 years one project will dominate greenway funding leaving little funding available for future worthy projects. Oh, some will dispute this claiming the civic center won’t create such a problem, so in the immortal words of Joe Friday, just the facts please.

Annually Lewiston receives $510,000 in greenway funding. These funds have been used to build monuments and streetscapes, sponsor youth programs, contribute to jazz festivals, improve a farm museum, restore our parks and turn an historic law office into a welcome center. Presently greenway funds are paying down an annual contractual agreement of $84,000 for an ice rink. If you subtract the annual $84,000 payment Lewiston has $426,000 for the next 30 years to fund future youth programs and jazz festivals, build more monuments and continue to improve all of Lewiston’s parks.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page