Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 13, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Lewiston civic center project will impact Lewiston taxes; use up most of greenway funds

Niagara Gazette — When asked what motivates politicians Will Rogers could only respond, “I love a dog. He does nothing for political reasons.” It’s a shame politicians aren’t more dog-like in their decision making approach if they were future problems could be avoided. But somewhere along the way a politician’s ego blinds him or her from thinking clearly. Their sole motivation isn’t to make decisions benefiting the community but to feed a self-serving ego through the accumulation of power and that cumulative hunger creates problems. For Lewiston that hunger will create problems for the next 30 years.

How will this happen? Well, it’s being proposed to use, for the next 30 years 80 percent of greenway funding on a single project — the civic center. With such a large percentage of greenway funding dedicated to one project little or no funding will be available to fund future projects in Sanborn, Colonial Village, or the Village of Lewiston. Little or no funding to improve our parks or sponsor summer youth programs at Artpark or fund the Jazz Festival. Little or no funding dedicated to Lewiston’s place in history. For the next 30 years one project will dominate greenway funding leaving little funding available for future worthy projects. Oh, some will dispute this claiming the civic center won’t create such a problem, so in the immortal words of Joe Friday, just the facts please.

Annually Lewiston receives $510,000 in greenway funding. These funds have been used to build monuments and streetscapes, sponsor youth programs, contribute to jazz festivals, improve a farm museum, restore our parks and turn an historic law office into a welcome center. Presently greenway funds are paying down an annual contractual agreement of $84,000 for an ice rink. If you subtract the annual $84,000 payment Lewiston has $426,000 for the next 30 years to fund future youth programs and jazz festivals, build more monuments and continue to improve all of Lewiston’s parks.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page