Niagara Gazette

Opinion

July 4, 2014

EDITORIAL: 'Jefferson lives' a testament to enduring freedom

Niagara Gazette — One hundred and eighty-eight years ago today, our nation’s second president, John Adams, uttered his last bitter, ironic words: “Jefferson lives.”

Thomas Jefferson didn’t have much of a response. He’d died earlier that day.

In one of a thousand quirks surrounding the wonderful accident that was our nation’s birth, two of our most revered founding fathers, mortal political enemies who spent the better part of our nation’s youth slugging it out in a political discourse that would make even today’s leaders blush, both died 50 years to the day after declaring these states united.

On the day where we mark our patriotism free from work, lounging, eating hot dogs and gazing at spectacular fireworks displays, we can also take solace that our society will endure.

It may seem, with all that’s wrong in this land, like we are destined to fall. But history suggests otherwise. We have overcome colonial rule, great dissension, a Great Depression, a Great Recession. We’ve ended tyranny in far-away lands and made this a world where freedom can ring.

It isn’t easy work, to be sure. Freedom is a tough slog through bouts of indecision, indifference and indecency toward the values we hold true. While we fight this battle, we aspire to attain our founding fathers’ same lofty goal, “that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable rights, among them life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. “

Say what you like about America in the new millennium, but those truths are still self-evident.

Two enemies, Adams and Jefferson, so bitterly opposed — and one peacefully handed power to the other. The world had never seen that before. It was a remarkable accomplishment. For the first time in history the will of the people prevailed over the whims of power.

Today, on the anniversary of when it all began, we cast away cynical views of our grand democratic experiment in favor of a celebration — of everything we’ve done and everything we hope to do.

Jefferson lives, indeed.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Assessing Islander's accidental fame When Islander go ashore, we know how to behave, most of us. Now Wikipedia can add one Kara Dudley to its roster of notable Islanders, definitively a woman of her times.

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page