Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 7, 2013

VINCENT DAVIS: Things more important than sleep

Niagara Gazette — A majority of famous television doctors as well as the National Sleep Foundation recommend that the average adult needs between seven and nine hours of sleep per night. Getting an appropriate amount of sleep helps your brain and body operate at peak efficiency, it’s good for your skin and contributes to a longer and generally less cranky life.

When is the last time you slept nine continuous hours? Can you remember a time, outside of summer break before sophomore year of high school, where you went to sleep at midnight and woke up refreshed at nine o’clock? Do you hate yourself or have an unspoken death wish to commit suicide slowly over more than 50 years via sleep deprivation? Then why aren’t most Americans getting adequate sleep?

I would venture the reason is, “because there was so much else to do.”

This past Monday was Dyngus Day, a holiday that seems to be exclusively celebrated in Buffalo and parts of Cleveland (congrats on your third consecutive Dyngus Day parade, Cleveland!). Those of you in the know are aware of what a wonderful day it is. It has everything: Polish people, pussy willows, grandmothers making soup and donuts all day – everything.

On Monday I found myself coming home late from a long day at the office ready to relax and settle in for a few episodes of “Saved by the Bell” on Netflix. I had barely finished singing the final lines to the iconic theme song when my cellular phone rang. It was a text from my brother that contained just four words: “Dyngus Day, come out!”

Keeping in mind that it was a Monday and I hadn’t gotten a great night’s sleep the night before — and I was looking down the barrel of a week full of meetings and conference calls. I made a decision … to totally go meet my brother for a Dyngus Day party!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page