Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 31, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Falls school board candidate offers education experience

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Half-way through my 13th year in the NFCSD, I left to become the Director of Student Services for the North Tonawanda City School District. In my current position, I act as the District’s Committee on Pre-School Special Education Chairperson, Section 504 Compliance Officer, Attendance Officer, Civil Rights Officer, Title IX Officer, Complaint Officer, Residency Officer, HIPAA Officer, FERPA Officer, Dignity for All Students Act Coordinator, Grant Coordinator, English as a Second Language Coordinator, Home Instruction Coordinator, McKinney-Vento Liaison, and Alternative High School Administrator among many other duties. I also oversee school counselors and nurses, as well as social workers, speech therapists, remedial teachers, and school psychologist along with the Director of Special Education.

I am happy to say that I received my tenure at this position this past January. With this security and my family’s support, I decided to run for one of the two open board member seats. Our family highly values a quality education and educators. I am a 40-year-old father of one son, Ryan, who attends GJ Mann and husband to Christine Barstys - a highly talented, respected, and often requested English teacher at Niagara Falls High School. She, too, has been in education her whole life, has been teaching for 15 years, is tenured, and a past Channel 2 News and New York State Lottery Educator of the Week. I mention this because as an administrator, I often look to my family to provide realistic and practical feedback for new programs, educational strategies and technologies.

As a board member, I will no doubt be an asset to those already serving. For instance, I am trained as both a teacher and principal evaluator in the new evaluation system. I can be instrumental when the district’s administration is asking the board to consider how a teacher’s APPR is affected by his/her SLO with State Provided Growth Measures versus a teacher without an SLO, but instead, Value-Added Growth Measures, and their effectiveness in implementing the new CCSS in getting their students ready for the PARCC. Despite the confusing jargon and endless stream of acronyms, I’ll know exactly what they are talking about and will be ready to assist the rest of the board in discerning which teacher is the better of the two, and therefore, who is best to suited to increase student achievement for (potentially) the next 30-plus years.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page