Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 28, 2013

HAMILTON: Resurrecting a city by celebrating life

Niagara Gazette — When I drive down the streets of our declining city, from time to time I will see pink or blue-bannered storks propped up in people’s front yards. They announce the birth of a new baby girl or boy. A flash of warmth floods within my heart, and for that moment, I feel that all is right with our world.

Sadly, I don’t have to drive much farther to see some street-side, temporary memorial of deflated balloons, fading flowers, rain-soaked stuffed animals and such that are tied to a telephone pole. They memorialize that tragic death of a loved one. Someone’s loved one has died in that very spot – and that saddens me in a couple of ways; you are not going to like some of them.

I know what is like to lose a loved one. Again, my godson, who was as my first son, was shot and killed when he was but 14 years old. My mom died at 29; and I was a month short of my eighth birthday. The later impacted me so much so that every time that I drove under the old north Main Street railroad viaduct and I saw the mid-street iron support that was dented as a result of a fatal accident that occurred there in 1960, I cringed. Now, even when passing under the new railroad bridge, even though there is no mid-street supports, my mind still flashes back to that incident more than 50 years ago. I know how it feels when someone dies whom I did not know at all.

How would I remember that, when I was only 6 years old, you ask? It is because I remember hearing my mother talking about it when she would drive us on Main Street to go shopping, and I internalized her feelings about what had happened. That was when both she and Main Street were still alive. In many ways, my mom still lives in my memory; and for many of us older Niagarans, Main Street still lives in ours. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page