Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 26, 2013

BRADBERRY: The more things change

Niagara Gazette — Wow, nearly 50 years have flown by since that game changing, Aug. 28 1963 March on Washington triggered a series of decisions and actions that would change everything.

Barely 14 years old, I so desperately wanted to be there that it physically hurt when my parents decided that I could not go.

Looking back over the years it is easy to see that a lot of good things have happened since then including, for example:

• The Civil Rights Act of 1964 passed by Congress and signed into law by President Johnson implementing the most sweeping action since post slavery Reconstruction after the Civil War. The law prohibits discrimination based on race, color, religion, or national origin and it gave the federal government the power to enforce it.

• The Voting Rights Act of 1965 authorized by Congress and signed into law by President Johnson on August 10, 1965, the law addressed registration and voting in Southern states where literacy tests, poll taxes and all manner of devices were being used to suppress voting by black Americans solely on the basis of race.

• Executive Order 11246, signed six weeks later by Johnson required government contractors to “take affirmative action” toward the hiring and employment of black Americans who were being systematically excluded and over looked by the process.

• The Civil Rights Act of 1968 approved by Congress and signed into law by Johnson on April 11, 1968 just four days after 39 year old Dr. Martin Luther King was assassinated, prohibited racial discrimination in the rental, sale and financing of housing.

• The Civil Rights Restoration Act, passed by Congress on March 22, 1988 over President Ronald Reagan’s veto extended non-discrimination laws into private institutions receiving federal money.

• The University Of Michigan Law School’s pro affirmative action admissions policy was upheld (5-4) by the Supreme Court almost exactly ten years ago on June 23, 2003 holding that race can be one of the factors considered by colleges.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page