Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 17, 2013

HIGGS: More about Trott Vocational

Niagara Gazette — Happy belated Father’s Day to James Fullerton Trott who is the historical “Father of our Schools” and to all our present day fathers who have this annual opportunity to celebrate this honorable and important status in their life; a status that should not be taken lightly as it bears a tremendous significance for the future.

More research into past Gazette articles led me to lots of discoveries about Trott. Before 1919, vocational training was not offered in any day school program in Niagara Falls. In September of that year, 32 pupils were enrolled in a machine shop class in the basement of 24th Street School. The following year an electrical shop course was offered at Niagara Street School. Things started happening in this regard as a vocational advisory committee was formed made up of members of labor, industry and the board of education. In 1923 an apprentice training program was established with the assistance of the Employer’s Association of Niagara Falls and various trade unions.

The student enrollment kept increasing and finally the Board of Education decided to build a new vocational school in 1927. A contract was awarded to Laur and Mack Building Company. The Gazette described it on opening day as “a hub of sorts — centrally located so that it could be easily reached from any part of the city.” School officials called it the city’s “monument to industrial evolution” and “a great and useful civic servant”.

The school was patterned after real life industrial conditions as its design combined a typical school and factory design. Forty-eight rooms included shops, classrooms and other amenities such as a cafeteria, gym, library and pool. Trott also housed the Central Junior High School as city enrollment was growing at a fast pace and its facilities were needed. The first graduating class consisted of 17 boys in June of 1931. By 1939 enrollment was 779 students and Trott was selected to form the WPA program locally.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page