Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 7, 2013

KEPPELER: A sweet reminder of lives lived

Niagara Gazette — The small news item landed on my desk about this time last year.

A number of local bakeries had agreed to ice some of their pastries purple for a portion or all of November, it said, in honor of National Alzheimer’s Disease Awareness Month. Like the far-more-ubiquitous pink for October, the color was meant to raise awareness of a disease that’s affected countless people, both the patients directly involved and the lives of those who care for them.

The campaign was the inspiration of Nancy Swiston of Tonawanda, whose mother, Grace Swiston, fought the disease for 10 years, a long, tough battle for both of them.

It wasn’t Swiston’s only effort to raise awareness of Alzheimer’s, just the newest ... and, perhaps, the sweetest. She also holds the annual Grace Swiston Memorial Fundraiser for the Alzheimer’s Association, advocates for caregivers in the region, runs a local support group, takes part in the local Alzheimer’s awareness walk and more.

I talked to Swiston, contacted the bakeries (at the time, the three Budwey’s Supermarkets in North Tonawanda, Kenmore and Newfane and Carriage Trade Pastries on Elmwood Avenue in Buffalo) and wrote a story about the campaign last year. And as November 2013 rolled around, I wondered how it was going, and if the purple goodies would make another appearance.

Boy, did they.

“You wouldn’t believe all the bakeries this year,” Swiston said during a phone conversation Wednesday. “There’s a lot of purple out there, a lot of the signs. I’m really excited; it’s just amazing all the stuff we’ve turned purple. It’s great so many places are on board.”

The Budwey’s bakeries and Carriage Trade are participating again, joined by many others. DiCamillo’s bakeries in Niagara Falls, Lewiston and Williamsville are in. So is Sweet Beginnings bakery in the Town of Tonawanda, and Paula’s Donuts in Tonawanda and Clarence. In Medina, Case-Nic Cookies will offer purple treats.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page