Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 7, 2013

KEPPELER: A sweet reminder of lives lived

Niagara Gazette — The small news item landed on my desk about this time last year.

A number of local bakeries had agreed to ice some of their pastries purple for a portion or all of November, it said, in honor of National Alzheimer’s Disease Awareness Month. Like the far-more-ubiquitous pink for October, the color was meant to raise awareness of a disease that’s affected countless people, both the patients directly involved and the lives of those who care for them.

The campaign was the inspiration of Nancy Swiston of Tonawanda, whose mother, Grace Swiston, fought the disease for 10 years, a long, tough battle for both of them.

It wasn’t Swiston’s only effort to raise awareness of Alzheimer’s, just the newest ... and, perhaps, the sweetest. She also holds the annual Grace Swiston Memorial Fundraiser for the Alzheimer’s Association, advocates for caregivers in the region, runs a local support group, takes part in the local Alzheimer’s awareness walk and more.

I talked to Swiston, contacted the bakeries (at the time, the three Budwey’s Supermarkets in North Tonawanda, Kenmore and Newfane and Carriage Trade Pastries on Elmwood Avenue in Buffalo) and wrote a story about the campaign last year. And as November 2013 rolled around, I wondered how it was going, and if the purple goodies would make another appearance.

Boy, did they.

“You wouldn’t believe all the bakeries this year,” Swiston said during a phone conversation Wednesday. “There’s a lot of purple out there, a lot of the signs. I’m really excited; it’s just amazing all the stuff we’ve turned purple. It’s great so many places are on board.”

The Budwey’s bakeries and Carriage Trade are participating again, joined by many others. DiCamillo’s bakeries in Niagara Falls, Lewiston and Williamsville are in. So is Sweet Beginnings bakery in the Town of Tonawanda, and Paula’s Donuts in Tonawanda and Clarence. In Medina, Case-Nic Cookies will offer purple treats.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page