Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 6, 2013

DELUCA: Prestis mourn loss of Charlie the Chimp, carry on with animal sanctuary work

Niagara Gazette — Charlie died in his sleep on Monday and the Presti family is heartbroken. 

The 28-year-old chimpanzee suffered from an enlarged heart, and died halfway through his life expectancy. It's a common ailment for captive primates.

For those who don't know of the Prestis, Carmen and his wife Christie are founders of the Primate Sanctuary in Niagara Falls. They've been in the news often over the past eight years as they fought to get approval to build a new primate sanctuary on their property in Wilson. The approval finally came in July. But, the project they hope to break ground on this spring will never benefit the one creature they wanted most to be there. Charlie.

I spoke with Carmen Presti on Wednesday about the loss of his friend, a primate he taught to communicate in sign language and who enjoyed watching Animal Planet and Nikolodian, eating tacos and occasional treats from Dairy Queen.

When Charlie was uncomfortable in his last days, he would call out to Carmen several times in the middle of the night and Presti would go down to see what he needed. If it was a drink, Charlie would touch his throat, or if he wanted food, he would touch his belly. Carmen lost 15 pounds tending to Charlie over the past few weeks. But the communication made things so much easier, especially when Charlie needed X-rays or blood tests.   

"Charlie and I could talk to each other just like I'm talking to you," Carmen said to me. "He understood everything we told him."

Presti recalled the first day he met Charlie when he and his wife were dating, more than 20 years ago. Christie, who already owned one monkey, asked Carmen to travel with her to Ohio, to meet a chimp she had heard about.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page