Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 4, 2013

Voters -- it's all in your hands now|EDITORIAL: Voters -- it's all in your hands now

Niagara Gazette — It’s election season again, a time when newspapers traditionally offer their endorsements for specific candidates.

In recent years, the Niagara Gazette’s editorial board, under the guidance of publisher Peter Mio, has elected against offering any formal endorsements. 

It is our feeling that the voters, who are in many cases our readers, know and understand the issues and are capable of deciding for themselves which candidates to choose.

The board does, however, feel compelled, especially in light of recent events in the city of Niagara Falls, to offer one bit of advice as voters head to the polls on Tuesday.

Being a “watchdog” does not require one to act like a pit bull. It is common for aspiring elected officials to bombard mailboxes with campaign rhetoric suggesting they will be “watchdogs,” always vigilant when it comes to the job of protecting the taxpayers interest or guarding the strings of the public purse. Their track record, sadly, is almost laughable.

The rest is up to you, the voter.

Off-year municipal elections typically draw the lowest voter turnouts of any election year. It should be the opposite. While we obsess endlessly and breathlessly in the media and over the kitchen table about whether a certain former New York senator will run for president in three years not nearly enough attention is paid to representatives who have a much closer-to-home impact.

If you haven’t been paying attention, today’s edition is one final push to drive that information home.

Some readers have strong opinions about local government and politics and that’s great. Others wonder whether it really matters. We’re here to tell you in no uncertain terms: It does matter.

Only a few thousand people will probably turn out to vote Tuesday. Their voices will be the ones that guide decisions large and small about this community. Invariably, some of these races will turn out to be incredibly close.

Your opinions matter only as much as you make them matter. On Election Day it matters more than any other.

So readers, let’s get out the vote.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page