Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 4, 2013

Voters -- it's all in your hands now|EDITORIAL: Voters -- it's all in your hands now

Niagara Gazette — It’s election season again, a time when newspapers traditionally offer their endorsements for specific candidates.

In recent years, the Niagara Gazette’s editorial board, under the guidance of publisher Peter Mio, has elected against offering any formal endorsements. 

It is our feeling that the voters, who are in many cases our readers, know and understand the issues and are capable of deciding for themselves which candidates to choose.

The board does, however, feel compelled, especially in light of recent events in the city of Niagara Falls, to offer one bit of advice as voters head to the polls on Tuesday.

Being a “watchdog” does not require one to act like a pit bull. It is common for aspiring elected officials to bombard mailboxes with campaign rhetoric suggesting they will be “watchdogs,” always vigilant when it comes to the job of protecting the taxpayers interest or guarding the strings of the public purse. Their track record, sadly, is almost laughable.

The rest is up to you, the voter.

Off-year municipal elections typically draw the lowest voter turnouts of any election year. It should be the opposite. While we obsess endlessly and breathlessly in the media and over the kitchen table about whether a certain former New York senator will run for president in three years not nearly enough attention is paid to representatives who have a much closer-to-home impact.

If you haven’t been paying attention, today’s edition is one final push to drive that information home.

Some readers have strong opinions about local government and politics and that’s great. Others wonder whether it really matters. We’re here to tell you in no uncertain terms: It does matter.

Only a few thousand people will probably turn out to vote Tuesday. Their voices will be the ones that guide decisions large and small about this community. Invariably, some of these races will turn out to be incredibly close.

Your opinions matter only as much as you make them matter. On Election Day it matters more than any other.

So readers, let’s get out the vote.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page