Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 31, 2013

GLYNN: 'Racino' employees in line for hefty pay raise

Niagara Gazette — Employees at the Seneca Niagara Casino and at the tribe’s facilities in Buffalo and Salamanca may wish they worked elsewhere when they hear about the new pay scale at racinos.

For the uninitiated, the “racinos” are actually casinos that have large slot machine parlors at or near racetracks. At present, the state has five Indian-operated casinos and nine racinos. If Gov. Andrew Cuomo and the Legislature succeed in the plan, the state Constitutional amendment will add seven full-blown casinos to the mix. 

Specific sites have not yet been determined but the additional upstate casinos would not be located anywhere near the present Indian-run operations. 

Some local residents, mindful of the suggestion by state Sen. Earl W. Brydges some 40 years ago — that legalized casino gambling could bolster the Western New York economy — must surely think they’re in a time warp. For decades the state lawmakers failed to agree on the casino proposal.

At a glance, the racino workers will soon be making a  lot more money that their counterparts at the casinos. Based on the new agreement with some 1,400 racino workers which the Hotel Trades Council announced Monday, their wages will rise from an average $10.15 an hour to $19.91 immediately. By 2016, it is estimated, their average wage will reach $28.54. A council spokesman said that in the final year of the new contract, most of the racino workers will make over $60,000. The union represents the New York Hotel & Motel Trades Council, AFL-CIO. 

Some other benefits the trades council lists as a blueprint that could show the way for future contracts with the gaming industry throughout the state:

• By 2016, a full-time kitchen employee will make $57,679 a year; a full-time cleaner will get $54,341; and a full-time security officer, $55,617.

*Wages for food court employees (e.g. at Popeye’s) will start at $22.98 an hour and rise to $32.94 by 2016.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page