Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 31, 2013

DELUCA: The feral cats and their frantic friends

Niagara Gazette — It started with a single kitty, meowing pitifully outside her door. Apparently, that’s how it almost always starts.

Paola Wojtowicz, who lives in a tidy neighborhood off Hyde Park, did what so many of us might.  She put out food so the feral cat wouldn’t starve. Of course, the cat came back.

When the cat had two little kittens, it made itself a little home in a rabbit hole beneath her shed. Paola, a tiny woman with close cropped hair and a giant heart, was able to trap the kittens — which she brought to be spayed — and then released them. It’s what many cat lovers do to attempt to stem the feral cat problem.  But, she wasn’t able to catch their mom. Weeks ago, the mom cat birthed five more kittens — as ferals can do every 62 days.  

Paola, a widow with an impeccably clean house and magnificent gardens, was able to trap them all. They are now in her lovely living room, where a plastic fence holds a giant dog kennel which holds a kitty carrier, where the mom cat hides. 

I visited Paola yesterday, after she called me, desperate for someone to help her. She introduced me to the babies. One, a black and grey striped beauty, lay just near the door of the carrier where his mom hid. He was on his back, soaking in the rays of sun which streamed through the front windows, looking innocent and perfectly relaxed. A pair of his siblings played nearby, one gently batting the other with a little white paw.

So darned adorable. Yet a part of one of the saddest animal epidemics the region is facing — an explosion of feral cats.

Paola, a native of Venice, Italy, whose heart was stolen by a young American paratrooper in 1957, came to Niagara Falls with her husband, Chester Wojtowicz, as a young woman. They had two lovely children. At 71, she should be enjoying this time in her life. But, caring for the cats is consuming. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page