Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 31, 2013

DELUCA: The feral cats and their frantic friends

Niagara Gazette — It started with a single kitty, meowing pitifully outside her door. Apparently, that’s how it almost always starts.

Paola Wojtowicz, who lives in a tidy neighborhood off Hyde Park, did what so many of us might.  She put out food so the feral cat wouldn’t starve. Of course, the cat came back.

When the cat had two little kittens, it made itself a little home in a rabbit hole beneath her shed. Paola, a tiny woman with close cropped hair and a giant heart, was able to trap the kittens — which she brought to be spayed — and then released them. It’s what many cat lovers do to attempt to stem the feral cat problem.  But, she wasn’t able to catch their mom. Weeks ago, the mom cat birthed five more kittens — as ferals can do every 62 days.  

Paola, a widow with an impeccably clean house and magnificent gardens, was able to trap them all. They are now in her lovely living room, where a plastic fence holds a giant dog kennel which holds a kitty carrier, where the mom cat hides. 

I visited Paola yesterday, after she called me, desperate for someone to help her. She introduced me to the babies. One, a black and grey striped beauty, lay just near the door of the carrier where his mom hid. He was on his back, soaking in the rays of sun which streamed through the front windows, looking innocent and perfectly relaxed. A pair of his siblings played nearby, one gently batting the other with a little white paw.

So darned adorable. Yet a part of one of the saddest animal epidemics the region is facing — an explosion of feral cats.

Paola, a native of Venice, Italy, whose heart was stolen by a young American paratrooper in 1957, came to Niagara Falls with her husband, Chester Wojtowicz, as a young woman. They had two lovely children. At 71, she should be enjoying this time in her life. But, caring for the cats is consuming. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page