Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 27, 2013

GLYNN: Amazin' Bill began career in Buffalo

Niagara Gazette — Longtime sports fans in the Buffalo-Niagara area have vivid memories of Bill Mazer, 92, the legendary broadcaster who died last week in an assisted-living facility in Danbury, Conn.

Mazer, who became famous for his encyclopedic knowledge, especially of sports trivia, started his career in 1947 at radio station WKBW in Buffalo. He had been recommended by Marty Glickman, a fixture in the Madison Square Garden press box. Within a year, Mazer was hired as sports director for WGR radio and was the sports anchor at WGR-TV (Ch. 2) from 1954 to the early 1960s. For the young University of Michigan graduate, the Queen City was an intensely competitive market for sportscasters. WBEN, for example, was loaded with top talent like Ralph Hubbell, Chuck Healy, Dick Rifenburg and Don Cunnigham. Still, Mazer created his own niche.

Among assignments, he was the voice of the Niagara University Purple Eagles, with his colorful coverage of Little Three Conference basketball games at the old Buffalo Memorial Auditorium. He had all the skill and savvy of another famous sportscaster Bill Stern who could make reading names from a phone book sound exciting.

One memorable night, when NU was playing at the student center on campus, Mazer went overboard criticizing the Purple Eagles for their sloppy performance. Several times, he fumed about the apparent lack of a sound strategy and the consistent failure to set up plays, He made it clear — more than once — that the Eagles needed better coaching. 

Coach John J. (”Taps”) Gallagher was obviously preoccupied with his chores at court side so he had no idea that Mazer was blasting him on the radio. However, as the story goes, Mazer would eventually get an earful about his remarks because Gallagher’s wife was listening at home. In all fairness, NU was experiencing a rare off night and even Taps, one of the most respected coaches in the nation, suffered from the frustration, despite the endless hours of practice and planning.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page