Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 27, 2013

GLYNN: Amazin' Bill began career in Buffalo

Niagara Gazette — Longtime sports fans in the Buffalo-Niagara area have vivid memories of Bill Mazer, 92, the legendary broadcaster who died last week in an assisted-living facility in Danbury, Conn.

Mazer, who became famous for his encyclopedic knowledge, especially of sports trivia, started his career in 1947 at radio station WKBW in Buffalo. He had been recommended by Marty Glickman, a fixture in the Madison Square Garden press box. Within a year, Mazer was hired as sports director for WGR radio and was the sports anchor at WGR-TV (Ch. 2) from 1954 to the early 1960s. For the young University of Michigan graduate, the Queen City was an intensely competitive market for sportscasters. WBEN, for example, was loaded with top talent like Ralph Hubbell, Chuck Healy, Dick Rifenburg and Don Cunnigham. Still, Mazer created his own niche.

Among assignments, he was the voice of the Niagara University Purple Eagles, with his colorful coverage of Little Three Conference basketball games at the old Buffalo Memorial Auditorium. He had all the skill and savvy of another famous sportscaster Bill Stern who could make reading names from a phone book sound exciting.

One memorable night, when NU was playing at the student center on campus, Mazer went overboard criticizing the Purple Eagles for their sloppy performance. Several times, he fumed about the apparent lack of a sound strategy and the consistent failure to set up plays, He made it clear — more than once — that the Eagles needed better coaching. 

Coach John J. (”Taps”) Gallagher was obviously preoccupied with his chores at court side so he had no idea that Mazer was blasting him on the radio. However, as the story goes, Mazer would eventually get an earful about his remarks because Gallagher’s wife was listening at home. In all fairness, NU was experiencing a rare off night and even Taps, one of the most respected coaches in the nation, suffered from the frustration, despite the endless hours of practice and planning.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page