Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 27, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Focusing on issues, not negative campaigning

Niagara Gazette — As another campaign season draws to a close, we are afforded with the opportunity to look back at the last six months and reflect on the road that has been traveled. My road this campaign can be summarized in one word: predictable. When I originally embarked on my reelection campaign, I predicted that I would be the victim of a barrage of personal attacks and mudslinging. So not surprisingly, I must say I was correct in my prediction. Obviously, not one of the vicious accusations raised against me was proven to be true.

Throughout the negative campaign that my opponent and his shady political handlers conducted, they failed to discuss a single issue or solution to the problems facing local government. Despite the false accusations, and mudslinging, I continued to devote my campaign to the issues and my plans to improve Niagara County.

Why would they opt to attack me personally instead of running a campaign based on the solutions to the problems that plague our county? Very simply, when they run on the issues, they lose and they are satisfied with the status quo!

In 2011, the Republican Legislative Majority appointed my opponent to the Legislature, for an approximate two-month term. During his two months in office, my opponent voted to raise our taxes which were already the highest county taxes in the entire country, an

additional 4 percent. His 2011 budget also included pay raises for elected officials, it raided our reserve funds, and froze contractual step increases for low waged county workers. He even voted against measurers to eliminate wasteful political patronage positions and special interest consultant contracts.

When questioned about his 2011 tax and spend budget, Guilio Colangelo defended himself stating that the budget was “pre-determined.” (See Buffalo News article dated May 11, 2013). This should come to nobody’s surprise. It should also come to nobody’s surprise that they would avoid the issues facing our county during the campaign.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page