Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 26, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Halloween hauntings on the Island

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Fright Fans — So help us, Hallowe’en started over here shortly after Labor Day. There’s a family nearby, on Red Jacket Road, who started working on their decorations while September was still in single digits, carefully supervised through their front window by their curious and ethnically-diverse dog.

It took a long time. Little by little, up it went, the gravestones, the skeletons, the protective fence, then the arched entranceway reading “Mydnyte Cemetery” like something out of Steven King, along with the promise of a haunted house on the witching hour of the witching day.

Finally came the piece de resistance, a battered and beautiful replica of a turn-of-the-last-century funeral carriage, stocked with skulls. We may have but a single undertaker over here, but around Halloween, nobody can call this a one-hearse town.

Season-rushing drives us, like most, crazy, but only in the commercial sense. This is just a family having fun, making “hey!” while the sun shines.

Something’s always going on at the house with the dog in the window. They’re playing football on the lawn or basketball in the driveway or hockey in the street. Doug can recall neighbors calling the police when he played in the street in Youngstown, Ohio. Not us. We just make sure to drive slowly.

We haven’t taken it upon ourselves to learn their names and probably could cough up the address only under hypnosis. These are strange times and there’s a lot of safety in anonymity. Nonetheless, it is a sight to see, the kind of communal creepiness that makes us feel good all over.

As for us, we put life-sized replicas of ourselves in the doorway, two wobbly souvenirs of previous employment. Scares the dickens out of the little nippers, sometimes they spill their goodies, all the more for us. Scariest thing we ever did, though, was hide in the bush and let loose a discordant blast on son Joe’s French horn. They were, indeed, the days, and to gleefully ghoulish neighbors, thanks for picking up our slack.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page