Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 12, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: 'Miss September' rises to the south

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Bridge Buffs — Pardon us while our girders burst with pride. Our much-maligned South Bridge, site of perpetual repaving and scorn, has been selected as Miss September in the American Society of Civil Engineers’ 2014 calendar and its image won second prize in their first-ever bridge photography contest.

It’s in mighty elite company. First prize went to a crossing in Pamban, India. The Pamban span (sorry, couldn’t resist that) seems suspended above a clear sea in the middle of nowhere. Miss December is photographed from one of those maddeningly reliable Swiss trains as it penetrates a 4,200-foot-high tunnel across the Landwasser arch of concrete stilts to Schmitten, population 264. Bridge to nowhere, anybody?

An august panel with more degrees than a thermometer store studied some 6,000 entries, “striking photos that highlight the design and engineering achievement,” according to the contest rules as provided by ASCE marketer Chi Wang, whose afternoon we disrupted with an avalanche of e-mails and phone calls.

“No failures of engineering,” the rules stressed (translation: no collapses), and honest photography (“no fish-eye lenses”).

And so with these constraints, one Michael B. Stuart of Lewiston, whose wife, Nicole, is the portrait photographer in the family, lined up an evening shot from the southwest side, the bridge (two, of course, as you know) bathed in blue light against a sepia sky. No tolls. No construction barriers. It looks like summer, but on a tight deadline, we were unable to link up with the shooter himself.

How we found out about this speaks to the variety of our friendships without benefit of Facebook. A covered-bridge student in Pennsylvania sent us a link, along with a note, “Have you seen any of these bridges?” Doug opened it and e-mailed back, “Heck, one of ‘em goes right over our house.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Assessing Islander's accidental fame When Islander go ashore, we know how to behave, most of us. Now Wikipedia can add one Kara Dudley to its roster of notable Islanders, definitively a woman of her times.

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page