Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 12, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: 'Miss September' rises to the south

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Bridge Buffs — Pardon us while our girders burst with pride. Our much-maligned South Bridge, site of perpetual repaving and scorn, has been selected as Miss September in the American Society of Civil Engineers’ 2014 calendar and its image won second prize in their first-ever bridge photography contest.

It’s in mighty elite company. First prize went to a crossing in Pamban, India. The Pamban span (sorry, couldn’t resist that) seems suspended above a clear sea in the middle of nowhere. Miss December is photographed from one of those maddeningly reliable Swiss trains as it penetrates a 4,200-foot-high tunnel across the Landwasser arch of concrete stilts to Schmitten, population 264. Bridge to nowhere, anybody?

An august panel with more degrees than a thermometer store studied some 6,000 entries, “striking photos that highlight the design and engineering achievement,” according to the contest rules as provided by ASCE marketer Chi Wang, whose afternoon we disrupted with an avalanche of e-mails and phone calls.

“No failures of engineering,” the rules stressed (translation: no collapses), and honest photography (“no fish-eye lenses”).

And so with these constraints, one Michael B. Stuart of Lewiston, whose wife, Nicole, is the portrait photographer in the family, lined up an evening shot from the southwest side, the bridge (two, of course, as you know) bathed in blue light against a sepia sky. No tolls. No construction barriers. It looks like summer, but on a tight deadline, we were unable to link up with the shooter himself.

How we found out about this speaks to the variety of our friendships without benefit of Facebook. A covered-bridge student in Pennsylvania sent us a link, along with a note, “Have you seen any of these bridges?” Doug opened it and e-mailed back, “Heck, one of ‘em goes right over our house.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page