Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 11, 2013

HAMILTON: Our fine failing schools cost more than we may think

Niagara Gazette — We have many things to be proud about in our Niagara Falls school system, but the quality of education just “ain’t” one of them. 

With the Porter Road high school being state-of-the-art and, when it was first built, the finest high school building in the state, the rebuild of Niagara Street School, the work that is being done on the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) laboratories at some of the elementary-level schools and the city being on tap to soon have some of the finest athletic fields in the state, none of these things have or will make our schools a world-class system.

Sadly, despite these accoutrements, our kids are not leaving any of these facilities being any smarter than any of the other districts’ that have none of these opulent trappings. And if you are drinking that bottled swill that it costs little to nothing to local taxpayer, then you are drunk on the poor education that you likely received from the same system. The reason will be explained in a minute.

But on a brighter note, the city’s school system has some of the most experienced classroom teachers in the state; and with that you’d think that the product that the production of these fine facilities would not be in the bottom 10 percent of all Western New York systems. You would think that they would be in the top 10 percent — nearer to the top 5 percent pay ranking of these quality classroom teachers.

So then, what could be the disconnect with these finest facilities, best teachers, but poorest results?

Don’ get me wrong, we compare favorably among other bad districts. But we can do better than even many of the better districts.

My belief, and the belief of some of the teachers, is that the problems are the elements on the periphery — the students/parents and the administration/board. It is a sandwich made with good meat, but with bad bread; and both of these elements breed each other.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page