Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 26, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Stop the bleeding in the Falls

Niagara Gazette — As a newer piece of our ever-evolving electorate I feel my stance on social and economic issues challenged regularly. What makes this country such a wonderful place to live and grow is the possibility to challenge; what concerns me about the political conversation is the lack of common sense.

When it comes to making decisions I have been taught since I was a young man to implore the ‘common sense test.’ When I look at the state of our city I wonder where the common sense test failed, or, why it was never implored.

Our current political discussion seems to revolve around how we’re going to cut taxes, cut the red tape imposed by local government, cut the size of government, cut the stranglehold the government has on our local base.

My question is: why? Why are we discussing the cuts and where did the discussion of growth fall to? It is entirely possible the nature of our ensuing political leaders have lead the burial of the topic within the argument and to that I say: shame on us; shame on the residents of this city.

It’s time for the City of Niagara Falls to demand better representation. It’s time for the electorate of this city to mandate a change for the better and for our elected representation to lead the change in the right direction.

Our city has faced a steady decline in residency over the past five decades. The reasons for this vary, some are arguably no fault of our local elected leaders and others fall directly on the shoulders of whom we’ve elected as a city and that right there is the point. We’ve elected leadership of our city time and time again that we seem to find fault with and I’ll never wrap my head around how that’s a positive.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page