Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 22, 2013

HAMILTON: Oh, yes! I remember Catherine Golanka

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Speaking to me only a bit milder, but just as much a matter-of-factly voice as she often chastised the council members, Mrs. Golanka said to me, to wit, “You know; you go up there and talk about Highland all of the time, but there are other issues in the city that you should speak about, too.”

Her words and she made me shudder; but at the same time, she opened my eyes to the fact that, despite the size of our name — Niagara Falls, and despite our ample diversity, we are still a very small city.

I cannot remember a single time that Golanka spoke exclusively on Polish community issues.

We Niagarans connect at virtually every point that connects anyone. The proverbial ‘six-degrees of separation’ is not the case here. Usually, there are only one or two people between each of us.

I can pull out of my driveway and into anyone else’s within 15 minutes, and never have to leave a Niagara Falls city paving crew’s street. We are one city, and we are one people; and from the day of the Golanka, I began to see it the way that she saw it.

I thank people like the now-Reverend Herman Boyer, Fred Brown, Eddie Palmore, Art Ray, Michael Brundidge, Doris Jones and a plethora of others who helped to direct me into service to my neighborhood. However, I also have to thank the Victoria Famas, Josephine Feras and especially the Catherine Golankas that inspired me to look past the Highland Bridge and to connect myself to the good of the entire city.

For those of you who did not know Mrs. Golanka, here is an example of the power of a single citizen.

Former City Council Chairman Anthony Quaranto tells the story of one wintry council meeting in which the only people in the room were the council, the clerk staff and the assigned police officer. No citizens had shown up on that blizzardly evening. Noticing that Mrs. Golanka was not present, as she almost always was, Quaranto instructed the police officer to go to her home, pick her up and to bring her to the meeting; because, as he said, “I am NOT going to have a meeting and have her saying that we did something behind her back.”

Wouldn’t it be great if there was a room full of Golankas at every governmental meeting? Well, It starts with you.

Contact Ken Hamilton at kenhamilton930@aol.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page