Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 8, 2013

HIGGS: Niagara Street School - Then and now

Niagara Gazette — The population on the east side of the City of Niagara Falls grew significantly after World War I and more schools were built to accommodate the new students. The original Niagara Street School was opened in 1919 and was the largest elementary school in the state other than in New York City.

James H. Erwin was the first principal. Located at Niagara and 25th streets, it was a three-story brick school with 48 classrooms, an auditorium, gymnasium and pool. This was truly a “landmark” building for the times but as its reputation grew even larger so did the school itself as an addition was necessary after only 10 years. Cost for the land, building and equipment was $523,554.39 which included the addition of 1929.

Another renovation began following the end of the school year in 1986. At the time it was a typical elementary school offering kindergarten through sixth grade with an enrollment of 710 children. The renovation included two three-story connected buildings, the original built in 1919 and the 1929 addition. The work continued over 16 months and consisted of a total renovation including replacement of all of the wooden windows with double glazed thermal-grade aluminum windows. A new elevator was installed along with a new roof, new security lighting and replacement of all exterior wooden doors with aluminum ones. The interior went through some upgrades also with a complete renovation of the electrical and plumbing systems. Toilet rooms were moved into the individual classrooms which were upgraded with new lighting and carpeting. The two school buildings were connected by a walkway on the second and third floors. Great care was exercised to refinish and restore the original woodwork throughout the buildings.

During this major project the students, teachers and support staff were moved lock, stock and barrel (actually their desks, materials, other furniture, supplies, etc.) to South Junior High School which was vacant at the time. Completed in August 1987 and completely furnished with new desks for both students and teachers, the school reopened in September for the new school year. This renovation cost $4,200,000. Miss Jacqueline L. Kane was principal during this time.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page